Fall is still a few weeks away.  Yet, I see some leaves starting to turn and a few are falling.  At this time of year I hark back to life in the South.  Barbecue, hushpuppies, slaw and football.  Trips to the Blue Ridge Parkway and down to Kure and Carolina Beach on the coast of North Carolina to fish for spots, blues and pompano.

I think of Tweetsie Railroad in the mountains of North Carolina and Mabry Mill.  The NC State Fair and Wolfpack Football.  Canyons Restaurant in Blowing Rock and trips to the Daniel Boone Inn Restaurant.  Driving up and down Black Mountain while praying to God in Heaven that the brakes will always work.

Leaves burning and rakes coming out of storage.  Leaf piles to jump in and pumpkins to carve.  The frost on that mid-October morning.  Hayrides and trick-or-treating.  Apple cider and my mom’s baking of things such as sugar cookies in the shapes of pumpkins and leaves.  The first day of wearing a long-sleeve shirt.

The look from Pilot Mountain down to the valleys below.  Trips through Surry County and up to the country.  Yes, these are the things I see in the back of my mind right now.  Times of an age gone for now.  But these memories are etched like carvings in stone in my memory.

I LOVE MY WIFE AND MY KIDS!!!!!

danlbooneinn Mabry Mill Tweetsie Kure Pier

