Tags

, , ,

This last week, on Friday we had a picnic lunch at a local park that included lots of open area to run and swings, slides and bridges.  I made a picnic and then we all headed out in the Slawter Family Truckster to play.

When we got there, inevitably all the picnic tables were taken.  Well, four of them had been absconded by the local Y program.  That is fine.  Reaching out to kids-I am all for it.  Especially if it keeps them busy and out of trouble.  We used a blanket and threw it down on the ground.  Then we chowed down.  Well, as much chowing as one can do with a pb&j and some tortilla chips and grapes.

Then the kids wanted to run.  And run some more and play on the swings and slides and bridges.  We stayed a long while.  Long enough.  The kids were actually tired and hot and asked to leave.  I’d say about 2-2.5 hours.  It was fun.

Then we took them home and cleaned up a little bit to drop them off at a friend’s house who has two kids of their own.  So, five kids spent Friday evening tormenting some other poor souls while my wife and I had a date night.  A real date.  Dinner and walking around a little bit.

It was a wonderful day.

I LOVE MY WIFE AND I LOVE MY KIDS!!

IMG_1862

