It seems like every once in a while my oldest asks what my favorites are in terms of foods, drink, sweets, candy, places to go, etc.  I don’t think of it that often.  But as I get older, and my oldest starts to question me, I realize that there are several things in life that I think of as my favorites.

Foods:

I love fried chicken.  Good, homemade fried chicken and potato salad.  I love good homemade spaghetti.  And I love steak and I love shrimp.  I also love grits and homemade biscuits, apple butter, country ham, red-eye gravy and I am sure several other things.  My mother and nanny made delicious homemade oatmeal cookies with their own cream filling.  Better than Little Debbie.  I also love strawberry shortcake and banana pudding.  If it’s Southern, odds are, I love to eat it.  Even collards and turnips and turnip greens.

For candy, I have a fondness for Snickers or Payday or Butterfinger.  Used to be my favorite was Milky Way.  Ice cream, there is only one favorite for me.  Chocolate and Peanut Butter from Baskin Robbins.

My favorite as far as movies go, I have a few.  To Kill A Mockingbird, Field of Dreams, Jerry Maguire, The Big Red One and It’s A Wonderful Life.  There are others I like.  However, I will watch these over and over and over.

Car- It’s actually a truck.  A Chevy C-10 style pickup truck.

I love the Beach Boys as my favorite band and Brian Wilson as my favorite solo act.  My favorite color is red, and my favorite NCAA team for basketball is NC State and football is Notre Dame.  I’m not a big nfl/nhl/NASCAR fan.  I do like the NY Yankees though.

Favorite restaurant is The Angus Barn for fine dining, Stamey’s Barbecue in Greensboro for eating period.  My favorite place to visit is hard to narrow down.  I love Walt Disney World.  But, I also love Kure Beach and Carolina Beach.  As a child I visited Ocean Isle each summer and loved it.

When I talk to my kids as they get older, I want to make sure they have favorites.  Things and places they want to go.  Want to visit and stay there.  I could care less if it is Kalamazoo.  Just have something to love and look forward to in terms of this!

